Lyme Park and friends –

When moving forward with my project, I am investing more time in landscape photography – particularly large places and landscape. Expanse. To realise that we exist within a wide plane, a huge world and universe, seems to put everything into perspective, for me at least. When getting deeper into this project, and thinking about the things that matter to me and the individuals I am in conversation with, I have come to the realisation that happiness comes from the little things in life really.

I again chose to shoot on medium format with portra film, and will continue to do so for the rest of this project. I am always very concerned with light within my images, making sure that the light is well considered. I look for warmer tones and a soft light when shooting landscape and portrait images. I feel that if I continue to shoot in this way, my images will be more cohesive.

When shooting I look for wide expanses, landscapes that are large. Thinking about the landscape having a Numinous effect on me.

Numinous (/ˈnjuːmɪnəs/) is a term derived from the Latin numen, meaning “arousing spiritual or religious emotion; mysterious or awe-inspiring.” The term was given its present sense by the German theologian and philosopher Rudolf Otto in his influential 1917 German book The Idea of the Holy. —

I find myself in awe of the land, the places I find myself in. When looking at a wide expanse I cant help but think of the things bigger than myself, and I often ponder things and presences of a higher nature. As I have been doing a lot of research into religion, I question things more.

Leave a Comment